Genting Thai Restaurant Customer Reviews

Here are just some of our customer’s recent reviews on TripAdvisor. For more reviews please check out our TripAdvisor page.

“Best flavour in Ireland!”
16 August 2013

The fresh food was impeccably flavoured and filled the mouth perfectly without overpowering your tastebuds. The portions were tremendous and we definitely didn’t leave hungry after soup and two mains. Wonderful atmosphere and service; the pacing of courses was ideal. The staff members were friendly and welcoming. It was a perfect dining experience.


“Best flavour in Ireland!”
16 August 2013

The fresh food was impeccably flavoured and filled the mouth perfectly without overpowering your tastebuds. The portions were tremendous and we definitely didn’t leave hungry after soup and two mains. Wonderful atmosphere and service; the pacing of courses was ideal. The staff members were friendly and welcoming. It was a perfect dining experience.


“Great food, every time”
2 August 2013

This is our favourite Thai restaurant on the planet. Never had a problem in years of eating here. Lately we’ve been doing takeaways a lot and we love everything. Pad thai is delicious. My usual veggie and tofu red curry is always excellent and fresh, fresh, fresh! Hubby always has prawn in spicy tamarind sauce. We love It.


“Fabulous!!”
30 July 2013

First impression of service is good. Pleasant atmosphere. Quality large wine glasses, not the usual “stumpy” rubbish one often sees in Far Eastern restaurants. Wine choice arrived quickly. The chicken satay, a perennial favourite, comprised four large succulent breast of chicken sticks. The chicken sung was fabulous! 
The single main course of massaman curry was huge and delicious!! (We asked our waiter at the start if we might need two mains and he, quite rightly and honestly, guided us toward one dish) This is a superb Thai!!!


“Fab!”
25 July 2013

Went here for a staff night out and the food is just amazing. They do take-aways as well so you can enjoy their quality food in the comfort of your home.


“Fabulous food when you don’t want Irish”
22 July 2013

Been in Ireland for a while and just wanted something else but Irish and fresh Asian food is it for me. Saw another site that said this is just like Thai food anywhere else in the world… Yeah it may be but it is the only Thai place in this part of the world and it is as good as Thai food anywhere in the world that I have been, barring your top end restaurants. Fabulous food and lovely staff.


 “Yummy”
7 July 2013

Had a big group of us here for a meal over the busy cycling weekend. Service was excellent and the food was excellent also. The staff were very nice. 


“Killarney is limited for food – this stands out.”
2 July 2013

Don’t let the unusual shopping-centre/shopping-mall location deceive you. This is an exceptional Thai restaurant serving up outstanding food. Okay, so the menu is pretty much the same as every Thai restaurant you’ve ever eaten in – but so what? Thai cooking is Asian food for those of us who are too up our own backsides to be seen in a Chinese restaurant – admit to this shameful character flaw and the entire experience will improve disproportionately. It’s not competing on a fine dining level and yet the flavours are often better than you might find at twice the price. If you are looking for something in this line and happen to find yourself in Killarney – eat here – you won’t be disappointed.


“Meal with family”
3 June 2013

I visited Genting Thai over the June Bank Holiday with a few family members. We heard great reviews and decided to try out for ourselves. I wouldn’t normally eat Thai but thoroughly enjoyed my meal. I had a chicken satay to start and prawns with chili and basil as mains. Both delicious, especially the rice which wasn’t sticky like you’d find in many Chinese’s. I will certainly be back.


“Very nice place to eat out”
30 May 2013

I was really suprised by the athmosphere – pleasant and calm. If you come earlier, you can get the early bird menu and save some money as well. The food was nice – Yum chicken soup and crispy chicken, will come back again!


“Amazing quality food”
27 May 2013

I live in Cork and I make it my business to visit Genting Thai anytime I’m in Killarney. Thai is my favourit cuisine but this is bar far the nicest thai I have tasted in Ireland. I am veggie, I would recommend the tofu and veg in chilli oil, the red curry is also amazingly, very rich and delicate flavours. Well worth it. Yum 


“Exceptional Thai food. Just eat here and you ll never go anywhere else for Thai food”
29 April 2013

On a 4 day trip to killarney and have visited this restaurant twice already And will be going again tomorrow night. Food is without a doubt the best Thai food I have experienced in this country. 1st night I had the Tom yum seafood soup. An abundant amount of seafood and an amazing overall spicy taste that complemented it. On a visit here last year I also had the Tom kha soup, and this was also out of this world. For main course on night one I had the steak Panang. Words can’t describe this main course just order it. Second night I had the combination starter and the duck gang peht ped yang. As a huge duck fan I am sceptacle about ordering duck as the majority of the time it’s overcooked and tough. In genting Thai the duck is cooked to perfection, no fat and very tender.


“Authentic food in lovely surroundings”
28 April 2013

Lovely restaurant. It is bright and spacious and well laid out. The menu is extensive with lots of choice. Food is excellent – beautiful flavours and really really tasty. The kids loved it too. Staff were very efficient. Food was really fresh and the combination of flavours really makes this Thai restaurant stand out. Looking forward to our return visit already.


“Excellent food and service”
15 April 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us by the receptionist in our hotel who said she had never been disappointed by it, and neither were we. The food was superb and the waiting staff were friendly and professional. The wore ethnic costumes which added to the atmosphere of the place. It is situated in the Inisfallen shopping centre which is on down a side turn off the main street( walk right into the back past the sweet shop). We will definitely be back again when we are next in Killarney.


 “Lovely restaurant, beautiful food”

8 April 2013

Fantastic restaurant at reasonable prices, hidden gem would definitely recommend this spot. The ambiance was lovely and the staff were excellent. starters,mains,sides, desserts and bottle of wine for 2 people came to €86


“Best Thai in the world”
15 March 2013

21a for a main sweet and sour chicken , you will have to book on a sat , very busy , best place to eat in town


“Return Trip”
5 November 2012

I love love love this restaurant, the food is always pipping hot and so tasty. Great menu with allot to choose from. The restaurant is always nice and warm even if your near the door. The staff are so friendly however the desserts aren’t made in the restaurant maybe just one or two but the rest are bought in. Always a great meal and great for take away’s also.


“Friendly and delicious”
30 September 2012

Genting Thai is definitely one of my top 3 Killarney restaurants. Lovely place for dinner for two, always excellent for our lady´s dinner out or simply delicious food for take away. Members of staff are always friendly and helpful. We like this nice not too formal atmosphere always having good time and delicious food for reasonable value. Thanks guys, good job!


“Genting Thai”
6 July 2012

I always return to this restaurant, beautiful ambiance, very friendly staff and it’s great value for money. I’ve never been disappointed with a meal here. The menu is clearly marked so customers can see the hotness of each dish.


“Delicious food”
28 May 2012

Nicest thai restaurant I’ve been to in years. Good service but the food is great. I wish we had branch in our own town!


“Superb spot…”
18 May 2012

Fantastic food and service… When you see the local Thai population eating there you know its going to be good… Mussels for starters were outstanding….!!!!


“My Favourite place to go in Killarney”
28 March 2012

I am a regular at this restaurant. What makes this special is that the chefs are all thai so as some others reviewers say it’s like being in thailand. Food is the same as you would get in Thailand. No fusion! Another thai place opened called lemongrass before and was short lived trying to fuse thai with local foods, and not having 1 thai person employed. There is a thai place in tralee also that won some awards for there food but genting thai is far better.

I’d say i’v been there a few hundred times and the only time I had a problem was when the head chef was on holidays or sick and another staff member was tasked with cooking and used massaman curry for everything that night as they didn’t know how to make anything else! 

There is a growing thai population in Killarney now and I see there are 3 thai spas (Thai owned) in Killarney now and 3 thai hair dressers as well as all the thai people working in hotel spas. Genting thai is where all the thai people eat also so that should tell you how authentic it is! 

Service is faultless always and plenty of smiley faces from all the staff!


“One of most popular restaurants in town…for locals and tourists!”
11 March 2012

I from Killarney myself and Genting Thai has been extremely popular with locals since it has opened. Definitely is the best Asian cuisine in Kerry. 

The menu has loads of options, and even-though it can be a little bit pricey, the portions are HUGE and full of flavour…you really do get what you pay for! 

The atmosphere inside is always great and the staff are very helpful. I have been here as a couple and with groups of up to 15 people and the service has been outstanding every time.

There is also a take-away menu which is handy for nights in!


“Great Thai Food”
4 March 2012

I regularly get take-out from this restaurant..always gorgeous! I would highly recommend the Chicken Satay & Sesame Chicken for start! Peanut sauce is to die for! Chilli Beef & Red or Green Currys are always gorgeous! Cant fault this restaurant!!